MSPIFF14: Final Roundup

Ruth and I have finished covering the film festival. She added one review:

The Last of Robin Hood

The Last of Robin Hood

3 out of 5 Reels

And so did I:

The Double 

The Double Poster

4.5 out of 5 Reels (A)

The festival truly was terrific. I saw nine films in total. None were precisely bad (Paulette was the worst) and some were truly exceptional (The Double and Mystery Road compete for my favorite of the event). Ruth, thank you again for having me participate.

20 thoughts on “MSPIFF14: Final Roundup

  1. Good work on highlighting films from the festival James! I’m curious about The Double, hopefully I’ll enjoy it as much as you did!

  2. Great festival coverage guys! The Double is getting some great word of mouth. I do, however, remember the director’s previous film Submarine getting a similarly good response but I was left cold by it. I hope The Double fares a little better with me but I’m glad you enjoyed it. Check out Submarine if you haven’t already.

  3. The Double opens this Friday (5/9). I agree with Dan above. I was not a fan of the director’s last work – Submarine. It kind of used The Graduate (a great great film) as a template, but it had a much nastier point of view.

    Anyway, I’m willing to give The Double a try based on your recommendation. Great coverage of the festival!

    • Thank you!

      I haven’t seen Submarine. But The Double has some obvious templates, too (Brazil and Wes Anderson are the most identifiable but not the only ones). Still; I’d be surprised if you don’t enjoy it, Mark. Between the atmosphere, performances and dialogue, I think it exceptional.

  4. Thanks Josh for taking part! It was fun having you be co-blogger, hope you’ll do it again next year. I don’t think I saw a bad flick thankfully, I gave mostly 3-4 rating to most films I saw. My fave is definitely The Grand Seduction as it was so hilarious, can’t wait to see it again when it’s out on rental.

    • Coincidentally, I can’t wait to see that one either! 🙂

      And I would love to take part again next year (and/or in any other festival), work schedule permitting and all.

Leave a Reply

