A Viewing Marathon

I have recently added the following reviews:

Mandela: The Long Walk to Freedom

Mandela

Grade: C+

47 Ronin

47 ronin

Grade: D-

Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues

Anchorman 2

Grade: C+

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

Grade: C

The Wolf of Wall Street

The Wolf of Wall Street

Grade: A-

Obviously, the last is the highlight. It is also one of the best films of 2013, and will almost certainly factor into my final Top Ten, whenever I publish it. I highly recommend The Wolf of Wall Street.

12 thoughts on “A Viewing Marathon

    • It could happen, but we’ll see. SAG didn’t nominate him, which tends to be less an indicator than the Globes, but still . . .

      He is also facing some stiff competition from Ejiofor, Hanks and McConaughey, all of whom are as good as DiCaprio.

      I would still give the Oscar to Hanks, personally, but I wouldn’t quibble with the other names (nor would I quibble with Redford, Mikklesen, Whitaker or even Elba). 2013 has had so many great performances.

    • As I’m grading with a Bell Curve in mind, I count a C+ as above average and generally recommend any movie that receives it. Even a C is still average.

      So the only one of these that’s actually bad is 47 Ronin.

  1. I was thinking of seeing 47 Ronin as I quite like Keanu, but now I think I’ll just rent it. It’s so risky to give such a film to a newbie director, and it cost way too much money to make it, too.

    • Wolf is great. I think you’ll enjoy it a lot.

      And I actually liked 47 Ronin’s trailer. It’s why I saw the movie, and started the longer review as I did. 🙂

      Oh well – not the first, nor the last, movie mistake I’ve made.

Leave a Reply

